## TOWN OF ARBORG INAUGURAL MEETING OF COUNCIL November 12th, 2014

### 1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER 9:00 A.M.

Mayor Sigurdson called the meeting to order at 9:00 A.M.

Present: Mayor Randy Sigurdson; Deputy Mayor Rob Thorsteinson Councillors: Erica Bardarson, Susan Bauernhuber and Vivian Leduchowski Also Present: Lorraine Bardarson, Chief Administrative Officer

### 2. INAUGURATION OF COUNCIL

1. Oath of Office

Each Member of Council signed an Oath of Office, which was filed with the Chief Administrative Officer.

2. Declaration of Assets and Interests
[per Section 9(1) of *The Municipal Council Conflict of Interest Act*]

As required by Subsection 9(1) of *The Municipal Council Conflict of Interest Act*, Members of Council were requested to file a Statement of Assets and Interests on or before November 30<sup>th</sup>, 2014.

#### 3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

### IN01-2014 Bauernhuber/Leduchowski

**BE IT RESOLVED THAT** the Agenda for the *Inaugural Meeting of Council* be adopted as presented. (Carried)

# 4. BY-LAWS FOR CONSIDERATION

1. **By-law No. 4-2014** A By-law to Govern the Organization of the Town of Arborg and the Committees Thereof

## IN02-2014 Thorsteinson/Bardarson

**BE IT RESOLVED THAT** *By-law No. 4-2014*, a By-law of the Town of Arborg to **Govern the Organization of The Town of Arborg and the Committees Thereof**, be read a first time. (Carried)

## IN03-2014 Leduchowski/Bauernhuber

**BE IT RESOLVED THAT** *By-law No. 4-2014*, a By-law of the Town of Arborg to Govern the Organization of The Town of Arborg and the Committees Thereof, be read a second time. (Carried)

2. **By-law No. 5-2014** A By-law to Regulate the Proceedings and Conduct of the Council and Committees Thereof

### IN04-2014 Bardarson/Thorsteinson

**BE IT RESOLVED THAT** *By-law No. 5-2014*, a By-law of the Town of Arborg to **Regulate the Proceedings and Conduct of the Council and Committees Thereof**, be read a first time. (Carried)

## IN05-2014 Bardarson/Leduchowski

**BE IT RESOLVED THAT** *By-law No. 5-2014*, a By-law of the Town of Arborg to **Regulate the Proceedings and Conduct of the Council and Committees Thereof**, be read a second time. (Carried)

#### 5. **NEW & OTHER BUSINESS**

Council Portfolios (2014-15) 1.

#### IN06-2014 Bauernhuber/Leduchowski

6.

c)

n)

p)

q)

u)

v)

East Interlake Conservation District

Icelandic River Community Foundation

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council hereby makes the following appointments for 2014/2015:

Councillor Rob Thorsteinson Deputy Mayor

2 Chairpersons to the Following Committees:

Finance Mayor Randy Sigurdson Vice Chair Deputy Mayor Rob Thorsteinson Vice Chair Councillor Vivian Leduchowski

b) Public Works Chairman Councillor Rob Thorsteinson (Transportation/Sewer & Water Utility) Vice Chair Mayor Randy Sigurdson

Ron Allard, Allard Law Offices 3 Solicitor Leith Robertson, Pitblado Law

4. Caretaker - Town Office Tessie de Vera

Public Works Personnel Animal Control Officers Chief Administrative Officer

Fire Chief Arborg Bifrost Fire Department

7. That the CIBC, Arborg, MB and the Noventis Credit Union Limited, Arborg, MB be employed to transact all banking business of the Town.

That membership in the following organizations be approved:

1. Association of Manitoba Municipalities 8.

- 2. 3. Manitoba Municipal Administrators Association
- Federation of Canadian Municipalities

That the following represent the Town of Arborg on the Committees and Boards listed:

Arborg-Bifrost Community Development Mayor Randy Sigurdson Corporation Councillor Vivian Leduchowski

Arborg-Bifrost Joint Fire Committee Deputy Mayor Rob Thorsteinson b) Councillor Vivian Leduchowski Mayor Randy Sigurdson (Alternate)

Arborg-Bifrost Parks & Recreation Councillor Erica Bardarson Councillor Susan Bauernhuber (Alternate) Citizen Member Philip Bauernhuber Dec 2013-Nov 2016 Citizen Member Val Martens Dec 2014-Nov 2017 Citizen Member Candace Kooman Dec 2014 -Nov 2017

d) Arborg & District Chamber of Commerce Councillor Susan Bauernhuber

Arborg & District Multicultural Heritage Deputy Mayor Rob Thorsteinson e) Village Committee Councillor Erica Bardarson (Alternate)

Arborg & District Seniors Resource Councillor Vivian Leduchowski f) Council and Handivan

g) Arborg Seniors Housing Corporation Mayor Randy Sigurdson Councillor Rob Thorsteinson Bifrost Airport Commission Councillor Rob Thorsteinson h) Citizen Member Frank Fiarchuk

i) Bifrost/Arborg/Riverton Waste Authority Councillor Erica Bardarson Co-op Inc. Councillor Susan Bauernhuber Citizen Member Don Hutchinson

Bifrost Justice Committee Councillor Vivian Leduchowski i) Councillor Susan Bauernhuber (Alternate)

Community Futures-East Interlake Mayor Randy Sigurdson k)

1) Community Garden Club Councillor Erica Bardarson

m) **Doctors Committee** Mayor & Council

Eastern Interlake Planning District Mayor Randy Sigurdson

Councillor Rob Thorsteinson Councillor Vivian Leduchowski (Alternate)

Evergreen Regional Library Citizen Member Lorraine Palsson

Nominating Committee

Interlake Immigration Settlement Services Councillor Vivian Leduchowski r)

s) Interlake Tourism Association Councillor Susan Bauernhuber

Interlake Veterinary District Councillor Erica Bardarson t)

Interlake Weed Control Board Councillor Susan Bauernhuber

North-East Interlake Emergency Measures Mayor Randy Sigurdson CAO, Lorraine Bardarson

(Carried)

Councillor Susan Bauernhuber Citizen Member Jim Leduchowski

Councillor Erica Bardarson

Councillor Erica Bardarson

# 5. NEW & OTHER BUSINESS - cont'd

2. Signing Authorities for Accounts Payable

## IN07-2014 Leduchowski/Bauernhuber

**BE IT RESOLVED THAT Jan Larkin, Assistant CAO**, be authorized to have signing authority for the Town of Arborg Accounts Payable;

**AND FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED THAT** said signing authority be used when payments are imminent and only one of the other four signing authorities is accessible for signature.

(Carried)

## 6. ADJOURNMENT - 9:25 A.M.

# IN08-2014 Thorsteinson/Bardarson

**BE IT RESOLVED THAT** the *Inaugural Meeting of Council* be adjourned at 9:25 A.M. (Carried)

Randy Sigurdson	Lorraine Bardarson
Mayor	Chief Administrative Officer